Versace Dreamer Review – My 2024 Scent Test

Versace Dreamer is one of my signature nighttime fragrances. This soothing blend of tobacco and florals is perfect for chilled-out evenings at a classy bar or just lounging at home with your girlfriend.

Versace Dreamer
$33.84 ($9.95 / Fl Oz)
Amazon Here FragranceX Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/07/2024 09:10 pm GMT

I personally love this powdery, mature blend – but I know that some gents consider these more retro notes to be a little dated. It’s a unique sense in a modern landscape of overly sweet or aggressively masculine fragrances.

Photo taken by Joe Manktelow-Pimm. Copyright: 7Gents ©

As the name suggests, Dreamer has an ethereal, calming quality to it – with a loyal cult following. There’s a bit of magic to this fragrance. It smells like the feeling you have just before you drift off to sleep – and I personally love it.

I decided to do a Versace Dreamer review with the hope of sharing this sophisticated cologne with Gents looking for something a little different, that is a confidence enhancer rather than a personality substitute.

It’s one of the best budget colognes I’ve bought over the past few years, so let’s see if it’s right for you.

Occasion: Chilling out and relaxingLongevity: 6-7 hours
Age group: 25 – 50Performance: Light
Season: Year-roundValue for Money: 4.5/5
Versace Dreamer: need to know

Versace Dreamer First Impressions – Packaging and Presentation

With a box that conjures the starry night sky, Dreamer prepares you for an oneiric fragrance right from the jump. It reminds me a little of the packaging of “sleepy teas” I’ve had before, but with a subtle shimmer that points to a sense of luxury and transcending the earthly realm.

Photo taken by Joe Manktelow-Pimm. Copyright: 7Gents ©

The iconic Versace medusa head sits pride of place in the middle of the bottle, embodying the mystery associated with their ethereal scents.

It’s an elegant design that feels simultaneously unique and classic, with well-shaped contours to the bottle that make you feel like you’ve stumbled across a magical artifact.

What Does Versace Dreamer Smell Like?

Rich tobacco sits at the heart of Versace Dreamer, bringing a sense of gentlemanly masculinity. It’s perfectly rounded out by softer touches of calming florals for an overall effect that feels very “dream-like”

The opening 15 – 20 minutes is quite lavender-heavy – and can come off a little “grandma vibes”. But by the time the tobacco arrives, you’ve got a perfectly balanced, sophisticated scent.

Versace Dreamer
$33.84 ($9.95 / Fl Oz)
Amazon Here FragranceX Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/07/2024 09:10 pm GMT

It’s like you’re sitting on a cloud, surrounded by flowers and someone smokes a pipe in the distance. 

This floral sense has some good nuance to it, shifting from soapy lavender to a lemony-Iris dry down as the scent evolves. The florals feel soft and sophisticated rather than bright, with more of a unisex maturity than a feminine feel.

As the scent develops, amber and Tokan bean arrive in the heart to lend Dreamer a powdery warmth. This is the sort of scent you’d want to wear on a calm evening out to exude peaceful confidence rather than an energizer to dominate your day.

Top Notes:Juniper, Tarragon and Artemisia
Heart Notes:Iris, Honeysuckle and Lavender
Base Notes:Tobacco Blossom and Amber
Versace Dreamer fragrance notes

Versace Dreamer Performance

How Long Does Versace Dreamer Last For?

Versace Dreamer lasts for between 6 and 7 hours, which is plenty to cover you for most evening excursions.

It doesn’t quite match the longevity of luxury colognes, but for the price, it’s a really respectable longevity that you’ll struggle to beat.

With that sort of lifetime, spray Versace Dreamer a couple of times in the early evening to enjoy a subtle skin scent to drift off to.

How Powerful is Versace Dreamer

Versace dreamer has a moderate-to-strong projection.

For the first hour, you’re getting strong sillage that will attract attention when people brush by you.

After that, it becomes a more intimate scent that is there to be discovered by those within arms-length.

I get this sort of projection from 4 sprays on my pulse points; two to the neck and two on the wrists.

Compliment Factor

When I first started wearing Versace Dreamer, I only used a couple of sprays – and wasn’t getting that much feedback.

Once I upped that to four sprays, the compliments started flowing. I remember the first week I had 3 people remarking on my “new” fragrance. One of them has a far wider fragrance collection than myself, so that was a real win.

For a sleepy Sunday, this is the sort of fragrance that my girlfriend likes to snuggle up to. She’ll regularly mention how good I smell, seemingly unbothered by the fact it’s the same scent every weekend.

Photo taken by Joe Manktelow-Pimm. Copyright: 7Gents ©

Occasion and Personality

Who Would Like Versace Dreamer?

Versace Dreamer is one of those fragrances that can be a little devise. Some people love the soothing scent, while others consider it to smell a little dated. Whatever you’re opinion is, we can agree it’s a unique scent in today’s landscape.

For me, Dreamer makes me think of the Great Gatsby – an old-school vintage vibe that speaks to class and sophistication.

It’s certainly not an aggressive, alpha-male cologne, and would suit a gent who is looking for a compliment to his reserved masculinity.

Versace Dreamer
$33.84 ($9.95 / Fl Oz)
Amazon Here FragranceX Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/07/2024 09:10 pm GMT

In terms of age, I think it would be best for a mature Gent. The softer, more traditional note profile doesn’t have the brightness or energy you’d associate with youth.

That said, it could certainly be worn by younger men that have shed their “party boy” persona. I picture a classy guy in a casual suit, propping up the bar in a mahogany-clad, low-lit bar, smoking a cigarette with a beautiful woman.

When and Where Should You Wear Versace Dreamer?

Versace Dreamer gives a really “clean” feeling – it’s the perfect scent to apply when you hop out of the shower and are winding down for the evening. On the weekends, this Eau de Toilette will elevate your “slouching around” to a more sophisticated “rest and recovery”.

I love falling asleep with Versace Dreamer – and so does my girlfriend. It’s an incredibly calming and soothing scent – just a single spritz an hour or so before bed works wonders.

While it’s great for chilling out, Versace Dreamer can also work with a classy outfit at a high-end location. It works best in quieter spaces where it’s more about enjoying things at a leisurely pace than partying it up with high energy. Either way, the nighttime is the right time for Versace Dreamer.

I’ve worn Versace Dreamer to work once or twice, but I didn’t think it was a great fit. I prefer something with some citrus or aquatics that feels a little lighter at the office. But I suppose if you have the right sort of job (like at a cigar bar or whisky spot), Dreamer could add a little classy mystery to your look.

In terms of seasonality, you can get away with Versace Dreamer whenever the sun has set. Just be aware that it projects more strongly in warmer weather, and that on particularly hot days it might feel a little stuffy.

Batch variations and reformulations

The original Versace dreamer appeared in 1996 and has gone through a couple of reformulations – and even a period of discontinuation – since then.

I’ve only ever tried the current formulation – but I do know someone who had the original blends.

According to him, the modern-day Versace dreamer is a faithful recreation of the original, with a couple of subtle differences. He mentioned that the original scent seemed a touch heavier on the tobacco, while the modern-day blend is more balanced with greater mainstream appeal.

I mention this because you can still find the older batches available through third-party retailers like eBay, but they come at a premium.

You’ll get some snobs who think the classic formulations are always better, but (according to my friend) it doesn’t really seem worth it to invest in the older version. In fact, the newer Versace Dreamer probably suits the modern world better.


Is Versace Dreamer Worth It?

There aren’t many budget fragrances that will give you such a classy feel that also have solid longevity. 

I blind-bought Dreamer last year and was absolutely satisfied. I know it’s the sort of fragrance that divides opinions, but for the price, it’s not much of a risk. Plus, if you shop through FragranceX, you can always try a spritz at home and send it back if it’s not right for you.

In my opinion, Versace could double the price and people would probably rate Dreamer higher than they do today.

Where to Buy Versace Dreamer Online

Amazon is my favorite place to buy colognes online. They offer the best prices and the most consistent stock of all the vendors I’ve found online. 

I also love that there are always plenty of public reviews so I always know exactly what I’m getting before I order.

They’ve also got shipping down to a fine art. If you order a cologne available with Prime delivery on a Thursday, there’s a good chance it will be in your hands by the weekend. It’s that rapid.

Versace Dreamer
$33.84 ($9.95 / Fl Oz)
Amazon Here FragranceX Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/07/2024 09:10 pm GMT

If you don’t like shopping through Amazon, you can also go via FragranceX. Those guys use a lot of creative stocking techniques (like selling testers) to keep their colognes really competitively priced.

FragranceX has also got a generous returns policy, so you can try out new fragrances without worrying about wasting your cash.


Versace Dreamer Alternatives

How does Versace Dreamer Compare to Other Versace Colognes

The most similar Versace cologne to Versace Dreamer is probably Versace Blue Jeans. They both use florals that are balanced in a way to still feel masculine – but in Blue Jeans, the effect is freshness, while Dreamer is all about comforting softness. Blue Jeans is a brighter, lighter scent that would be a better pick for spring or summer.

Versace Blue Jeans
4.2
$23.98 ($9.59 / Fl Oz)
Pros:
  • It is a bright, airy fragrance with good projection.
  • A complex scent that lasts for almost a day before it disappears
Amazon Here Full Review Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/14/2024 01:41 pm GMT

Dreamer’s retro palate can be a little divisive, so if you’re looking for a more versatile Versace cologne, Pour Homme or Dylan Blue might be safer picks.

Photo taken by Joe Manktelow-Pimm. Copyright: 7Gents ©

Versace Dreamer doesn’t share many similarities with Versace’s flagship Eros range, but those colognes are both worth considering if you’d prefer something with a bit more energy and youthful exuberance.

Versace Eros
$98.00 $67.67 ($19.90 / Ounce)

A vibrant, youthful party-banger cologne that women can't resist.

Masculine woodiness in the base (cedar) paired with sweet fruits and mint.

Beast mode performance- will last a full 8-hour day with no problems.

Amazon Here Full Review Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/07/2024 02:39 pm GMT
Photo taken by Joe Manktelow-Pimm. Copyright: 7Gents ©

Similar Fragrances to Versace Dreamer

Dolce and Gabbana Pour Homme

Dolce and Gabbana Pour Homme has a tobacco floral profile that is similar to Versace Dreamer – but with an added citrus brightness in the opening.

The addition of this zesty zip makes it feel a little more energizing – a little like a “daytime Dreamer”.

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme
$57.00 $41.20 ($16.48 / Fl Oz)
Amazon Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/06/2024 04:34 pm GMT
Occasion: Daytime DreamerLongevity: 8+ hours
Age group: 30 – 50Projection: Strong
Season: Spring/FallValue for money: 4/5
Dolce Gabbana Pour Homme: Need to Know

Dolce and Gabbana pour Homme is a clean, elegant blend for a seductive gentleman.

Like Dreamer, it represents refined masculinity rather than unmeasured aggression. It’s calming and confident, with a well-balanced opening of citrus, lavender, and tobacco.

The blend is soapy and clean smelling like Dreamer, but feels brighter and lighter from the citrus. After the citrus mellows, the tobacco becomes clearer and deepens in the base. The fragrance dries down beautifully with the addition of powdery tonka bean and woodsy notes. 

I get countless people asking me what I’m wearing, especially if they catch me within the first few hours after application. Overall, this Dolce and Gabbana scent lasts for roughly 8 hours – which will cover you all day.

Top Notes:Citruses, Bergamot, Neroil and Mandarin Orange
Middle Notes:Lavender, Pepper and Sage
Base Notes:Tobacco, Cedar and Tonka Bean
Pour Homme Dolce Gabbana Fragrance Notes

Dior Homme

If Versace the Dreamer is the eccentric hipster older brother, Dior Homme is the career-oriented, younger brother. It’s a scent for the man who knows what he wants and goes after it, with mature “CEO-energy”.

Dior Homme
$104.50 ($30.74 / Ounce)

Contemporary and subtle masculinity. A modernization of classic woodsy tones.

Natural, clean-smelling blend that offers versatility that supports your personality rather than stealing the show.

Amazon Here Nordstrom Here
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/08/2024 01:20 am GMT
Occasion: Classy WoodinessLongevity: 7 hours
Age group: 30 – 50Projection: Moderate
Season: Fall/WinterValue for money: 4/5
Dior Homme: Need to Know

This scent smells classically masculine and mature, but not in an aggressive or overpowering way. It feels more comforting and warm than earthy or deep, let’s say.

There are prevalent woods in the heart and the base, livened up by refreshing pops of fresh citrus and the prickle of pink pepper in the top notes. There’s enough going on to keep this Dior cologne from feeling stagnant, or one-dimensional.

It’s a great way to add a masculine undercurrent to your day, from lounging at home to dominating in the workplace. The key is all in how many spray you use; 1-2 sprays for casual situations or 3-4 sprays for more of a statement.

Top Notes:Bergamot, Pink Pepper and Elemi
Middle Notes:Cashmere Wood, Cedar and Patchouli
Base Notes:Haitian Vetiver and White Musk
Dior Homme Fragrance Notes

Write a comment